Napowrimo (15/30) – April 15th – Being half way through doesn’t mean you are half way near the end

The first half
The lush greens invited me to take the scenic route
A path less travelled in the dense beautiful layout
I enjoyed each and every minute of my journey; of going down hill
So many miles per hour; I was the master of my destiny and will
I thought to myself; This is one easy hike
I can go on and on- on this- because I like

Being half way through doesn’t mean you are half way near the end

The Mid Point

I was half way through and at the dead end
When my downward descend came to an end
I turned around and the journey was all uphill ascend
I was half way through and yet no where near the end
And then I saw last signal on my phone disappear
As on the trail a sign saying “Bear Zone” appear

Being half way through doesn’t mean you are half way near the end

The Final Half

What took me minutes to go down
Took me hours to get back around
Sweating profusely, every muscle in my body aching
I reached my destination-barely, tired and fainting
I was so glad to be just alive
didn’t even notice the insect bite

Being half way through doesn’t mean you are half way near the end

Lessons Learnt

Don’t be fooled by beauty and looks
Always carry your maps and books
Your phone may still fail in the bear zones
Exercise, eat right-take care of your bones
If it looks too easy; there is a reason
Check the weather and the season

Being half way through doesn’t mean you are half way near the end

 

 

The challenge today was to write a poem that reflects on the nature of being in the middle of something. The poem could be about being on a journey and stopping for a break, or the gap between something half-done and all-done.

About AQ

I am Adam's mom :)
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo 2017, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Napowrimo (15/30) – April 15th – Being half way through doesn’t mean you are half way near the end

Leave a Reply

