Napowrimo(25/30)-Under the bed

Ages ago
Hundred miles away
In my dad’s house
In my childhood room
I left some things
Under the bed

A little girl
With a book in one hand
And
A torchlight in other
Reading- past her bed time
Under the bed

A small dog
Smuggled and
Brought inside
the house
Sleeping
Under the bed

A personal diary,
A poetry book,
Some scribbles on
A piece of paper
All carefully hidden
under the bed

A photograph
A math test
Packed in a box
Labelled “Private and Confidential”
Tucked
Under the bed

A half
Bar of chocalate
Some smiles
Some joys
Some broken rules
Under the bed

Some tears
Some pain
Of the days
When I lost
My mother – still lingering
Under the bed

A fragment
Of my soul
Still wandering
In that house
In that room
Under the bed

Ages ago
Hundred miles away
In my dad’s house
In my childhood room
I left some things
Under the bed

Challenge today was to write a poem that explores a small, defined space. It could be any space that is small, definite, and meaningful.

About AQ

I am Adam's mom :)
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo 2017, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Napowrimo(25/30)-Under the bed

  1. Beautiful! I guess all women have that special bond with the things left in their parent’s house. I miss them too…so much 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

